4 Regulatory

4.1 Primary legislation

The Telecommunications Act 1997, the primary legislation administered by the ACMA for telecommunications regulation related to standards, compliance and labelling, is available from ComLaw. The relevant Parts/Sections are:

  • objectives/intentions.
  • Industry codes and industry standards (Part 6).
  • technical Standards (Part 21 section 376).
  • disability Standards (Part 21 section 380).
  • Cabling Provider Rules (Part 21 section 421).
  • Types of cabling work (Part 21 section 419).

The Telecommunications (Consumer Protection and Service Standards) Act 1999 is the primary legislation and deals in part with standard telephone service (section 6) and is administered by the ACMA.

4.2 Subordinate legislation

The following subordinate legislation and related documentation for telecommunications regulation related to standards, compliance and labelling administered by the ACMA is available from the ACMA and ComLaw:

    4.3 Regulation

    The ACMA provides information for suppliers for manufacturing or importing of electrical products into Australia. Specific information on the rules and associated Labelling Notices for Telecommunications equipment, Radiocommunications equipment, Electromagnetic compatibility and Electromagnetic energy can be found under the first step of the Five step guide.

    Information on how the ACMA regulates the cabling industry is available at the ACMA’s How we regulate the cabling industry.

    The ACMA also works closely with many regulators internationally to build co-operative relationships and partnerships, promote and protect Australian interests and to support broader government policies and activities.