Sydney, 22 February 2021 - Nominations have opened for the Australian communications industry’s premier awards - the ACOMMS - with 12 categories celebrating performance excellence in innovation, customer service, artificial intelligence, sustainability, the space sector, diversity and inclusion, and product solutions across the breadth of the telecommunications sector.

The ACOMM awards will be presented at the 15th Annual ACOMMS Dinner on 18 August 2021 at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth, Sydney, attended by senior players from industry, the media, regulators and the Parliamentary sphere. The Minister for Communications, Urban Infrastructure, Cities and the Arts, The Hon. Paul Fletcher, has been invited to deliver the keynote address at the dinner.

The ACOMM Awards recognise industry-leading achievements among communications players including carriers/service providers, content providers, space and satellite players, technology vendors and professional services suppliers.  

The 2021 ACOMMS will be awarded to companies that have excelled in:

  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Sustainability
  • Artificial Intelligence (AI)
  • Australian Space Industry Award
  • Innovation (Large)
  • Innovation (SME)
  • Vendor Innovation
  • Services to Industry - Professional Services
  • Commitment to Customer Service (Corporate / Consumer)
  • Community Contribution
  • Best Mobile Solution
  • Communications Ambassador Award

The Communications Ambassador Award recognises an outstanding individual who exemplifies the sector’s values and has made a significant contribution to the industry.

Communications Alliance CEO, John Stanton encouraged companies small and large to submit their work in relevant categories.

“The award categories reflect some significant trends in our industry, such as the burgeoning influence of artificial intelligence, the exciting growth of the Australian space industry and the central importance of providing working environments that nurture and promote diversity and inclusion.

“Once again we expect the awards to produce strong competition and look forward to honouring the organisations that have showcased the highest standards and industry best practice over the past year,” Mr Stanton concluded.

Nominations for the awards close on 21 May 2021.  Full details of the awards and criteria are available at https://www.acomms.com.au/2021/nominations

Registrations for the dinner can be made at https://www.acomms.com.au/2021/register

Communications Alliance is the primary telecommunications industry body in Australia. Its membership is drawn from a wide cross-section of the  communications industry, including carriers, carriage and internet  service providers, content providers, search engines, equipment vendors, IT companies, consultants and business groups.

The most influential association in Australian communications, co-operatively initiating programs that promote sustainable industry development, innovation and growth, while generating positive outcomes for customers and society.  To create a co-operative stakeholder environment that allows the industry to take the lead on initiatives which grow the Australian communications industry, enhance the connectivity of all Australians and foster the highest standards of business behaviour.  For more details about Communications Alliance, see www.commsalliance.com.au.

Media information contact:
Neeley Williams nwilliams@sefiani.com.au
0434 742 551