Sydney, 4 July 2018 – Communications Alliance is proud to announce the finalists for 2019 in the communications industry’s premier awards for excellence, the ACOMMS, which recognise exemplary achievement across 11 categories of endeavour.

The ACOMMS will be presented at a gala industry event in Sydney on 15th August 2019.

The short-listed nominees are a showcase of talent from across the sector, illustrative of the industry’s innovation to harness the benefits of next-generation networks, connectivity solutions, transformed customer service approaches and available-anywhere, advanced services and applications.

Communications Alliance CEO, John Stanton said: “the 2019 ACOMMs finalists forcefully reflect the prominent areas of innovation and technological advancement driving the sector, including:

  • the increasing transition to cloud-based services;
  • customer-focused tools to ease the migration to next-gen fixed and mobile platforms; and
  • IoT-based solutions that are transforming industry verticals.

New vendor initiatives in 2019 include innovative world-leading accomplishments in IoT connectivity and a new approach to enabling communities to create and manage their own networks.

Mobile solution nominations include better ways to protect children from cyber-bullying and other mobile threats, and the emergence of limitless mobile data.

“There are great stories behind the commitment to excellence on display from all finalists. I congratulate and wish them well for the ACOMMS Awards night,” Mr Stanton said.

The 2019 ACOMM Awards finalists are:

Communications Ambassador

  • Announced on the night

Innovation (large)

  • AussieBroadband - MyAussie
  • Telstra - Telstra Track and Monitor
  • Nokia - Optus 5G Home Broadband
  • Vocus - Australia Singapore Cable

Innovation (SME)

  • Southern Phone Company - Next Home Phone
  • Pivotel Satellite and Farmbot - Farmbot water monitoring solutions incorporating Pivotel’s satellite technology
  • Powertec Telecommunications - myinsight.io Platform and Connectivity Module
  • Telcoinabox - ConnectYou

Satellite Provider of the Year

  • Pivotel Satellite and Farmbot - Farmbot water monitoring solutions incorporating Pivotel’s satellite technology
  • Speedcast - Speedcast Atlas
  • NBN Co & Viasat - Satellite powered broadband mobility

Commitment to Customer Service

  • Aussie Broadband  - “Making it easy”
  • OVO - The telco that gives an F*: Service reimagined.(*Fair, Fun, Flexible, Fast, Fantastic and FansFirst)
  • Vodafone Hutchison Australia - Commitment to Customer Service
  • Telstra - Telstra’s Future Retail Environment

Services to Industry - Professional Services

  • EC Connect - EC Connect Telco Services
  • King & Wood Mallesons - Legal
  • Bird & Bird - Legal Services

Best Marketing Initiative

  • Aussie Broadband - #cantbeatfeedback
  • NetComm - 5G Fixed Wireless Self-Install
  • Cisco - CiscoLive! Melbourne 2019
  • Huawei Technologies - Huawei P30 Pro launch

Best Mobile Solution

  • Yomojo - FamilyEye by Yomojo
  • Vodafone Hutchison Australia - Vodafones market first handset plans with endless data and no lock-in contracts
  • MNF Enterprise Services - Enterprise Mobile Management

IoT Startup

  • Announced on the night

Community Contribution

  • Bendigo Telco - Bendigo Bank House – Bendigo Telco Shared Office Space
  • Fulton Hogan Utilities - Various Charities The Power of Giving Back
  • Telstra Foundation - Tech4Good Challenge
  • NBN Co - Townsville Floods – ‘Keeping the Community Connected’

Vendor Innovation                     

  • Cisco & Megaport - Megaport MCR 2.0
  • Speedcast - SIGMA Gateway
  • Nokia - Nokia Community Hosted Network: Kuha
  • Ericsson Australia - IoT Innovation and Leadership
The ACOMM Awards are proudly presented by Communications Alliance. The MNF Group is the 2019 Title Sponsor of the ACOMMS, with Bird & Bird, KPMG and Mirait Technologies Australia, Bronze Sponsors.

Australia’s leading national newspaper, The Australian has once again joined as the official Media Partner of the ACOMMS.

The ACOMMS recognise excellence among communications industry participants including individuals, service providers, content providers, carriers, technology partners, consultants and third-party suppliers.

The awards will be presented at the 13th Annual ACOMMS Dinner to be held on 15th August 2019 at the Hyatt Regency, Sydney. The Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, The Hon Paul Fletcher, will deliver the keynote address at the dinner. This year comedian star, Claire Hooper, will be the MC for the evening.

Registrations for this year’s event can be made at: http://acomms.com.au/2019/register/

Communications Alliance is the primary telecommunications industry body  in Australia. Its membership is drawn from a wide cross-section of the  communications industry, including carriers, carriage and internet  service providers, content providers, search engines, equipment vendors, IT companies, consultants and business groups.

Its vision is to  provide a unified voice for the telecommunications industry and to lead  it into the next generation of converging networks, technologies and  services. The prime mission of Communications Alliance is to promote the growth of the Australian communications industry and the protection of  consumer interests by fostering the highest standards of business ethics and behaviour through industry self-governance. For more details about  Communications Alliance, see www.commsalliance.com.au.

Media information contact:
Kurt Graham kgraham@sefiani.com.au
0431 478 558