Issue No 16: 14 June 2017



Hot Topics
  • ACOMMS 2017: 19 July 2017 - Book your seats here


Follow Us on Twitter here facebook Like us on Facebook here

ACOMMS 2017- Book your seats now!

Shortlisted-AnnouncedCommunications Alliance is proud to announce the finalists in the communications industry’s premier awards for excellence, the ACOMMS, which recognise exemplary achievement across 12 categories of endeavour.

The ACOMMS will be presented at a gala industry event in Sydney on 19th July 2017.

The short-listed nominees are illustrative of the industry’s transformation from the provision of traditional fixed and mobile communications to next-generation available-anywhere, advanced services and applications.

Communications Alliance CEO John Stanton said: “the activities underlying the nominations bear testimony to the strength of innovation that is driving the Australian communications industry”.

“There are great stories behind the commitment to excellence on display from all finalists. I congratulate and wish them well for the ACOMMS Awards night.”

“And this year, for the first time, the IoT Alliance Australia (IoTAA) is offering the IoT Impact Award as part of the ACOMMs bouquet. The IoTAA will recognise a company or organisation that has undertaken IoT-based activities that exhibit innovation, collaboration and have generated a demonstrable impact on the Australian economy.

The 2017 ACOMM Awards finalists are:

Communications Ambassador

  • Announced on the night

Innovation (large);

  • Telstra and Ericsson - Telstra’s new Gigabit capable LTE network (in selected locations), enabled by Ericsson.
  • Vodafone Hutchison Australia - NB-IoT
  • Vodafone Hutchison Australia - Zone Cool Shelter

Innovation (SME)

  • Coevolve - Global Managed SD- WAN Service
  • ECConnect - EAP EVOLUTION - (Client Lifecycle Management)
  • Next Telecom - Next Advantage Essential Services
  • Telcoinabox Operations - Cloud Sales Assist (CSA)

Satellite Provider of the Year

  • Optus Satellite - Small Cell technology for remote Australia
  • Optus Satellite - Broadcasting the English Premier League
  • Pivotel Satellite - Pivotel Big Bundle

Commitment to Customer Service

  • amaysim Australia - amaysim Help and Self-Service Platforms
  • MyNetFone - Customer service strategy
  • Singtel Optus Systems - Digital Customer Service
  • Speedcast Australia - Customer Service
Services to Industry - Professional Services
  • Baker McKenzie - Long-term value towards industry development and/or industry co-operation
  • Bird & Bird - Legal Services
  • Cyient Australia - Cyient Graduate Program & Western Sydney University Partnership
  • Maddocks - Copper network access matter

Best Marketing Initiative

  • Huawei Technologies Australia - Huawei ICT Roadshow Australia 2016
  • Optus Systems - Optus AOC/APC Partnership - Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games
  • OVO Mobile - OVO Mobile kids plan

Best Mobile Solution

  • amaysim Australia - Vaya Price Beat Guarantee
  • Optus Systems - Optus Home Wireless Broadband
  • Telstra - The Telstra Nighthawk M1 mobile hotspot and Telstra's new Gigabit capable LTE network

IoT Innovator

  • Huawei - Technologies Narrowband IoT
  • NNNCo - Demand Response Load Control IoT Solution
  • Reekoh - Reekoh IoT Integration Platform
  • Vodafone - Hutchison Australia Narrowband IoT

Community Contribution

  • Aussie Broadband - Grass Roots program
  • NBN Co Limited - nbn™ Job ready program
  • Telstra Foundation - Telstra Imaginarium for Non-Profits
  • Vodafone & Vodafone Foundation  - Vodafone Foundation Hello Sunday Morning

Vendor Innovation (Large)

  • Announced on the night;

Vendor Innovation (Emerging)

  • Announced on the night

IoTAA Impact Award

  • WaterGroup Pty Ltd
  • Aurizon, Deloitte
  • Smarter Technology Solutions
  • Thinkxtra Pty Ltd

The ACOMM Awards are proudly presented by Communications Alliance and recognise excellence among communications industry participants including individuals, service providers, content providers, carriers, technology partners, consultants and third party suppliers. Vodafone is the 2017 title sponsor of the ACOMMS, with Mirait Technologies Australia, Optus, Cyient, amaysim, Bird & Bird, Foxtel and KPMG also sponsoring the event.

The ACOMMS will be announced and presented at the 11th Annual ACOMMS Dinner to be held on 19th July 2017 at the very elegant Hyatt Regency, Sydney.  The Minister for Communications, The Hon Mitch Fifield, will deliver the keynote address at the dinner.  The comedic superstar Kitty Flanagan will be the MC for the evening.

Registrations for this year’s event can be made at: http://www.acomms.com.au/register.php

Visit the 2016 ACOMMS Awards Dinner photo gallery here and highlights video here.

Pacific Telecommunications Council (PTC) is Now Accepting Applications

Application deadline is 2 September 2017 by 2:00 PM EAST


PTC’s Young Scholar Program (YSP) is designed to recognize, encourage, and support up-and-coming scholars in the field of information and communication technologies. Selected participants will be invited to present their research at PTC’s 40th anniversary conference.

Applications are now being accepted for PTC's 2018 YSP.  PTC's YSP offers promising young scholars the opportunity to:

  • Present their research in a high-visibility academic and industry forum
  • Engage in research discussions with esteemed academic faculty
  • Participate in PTC'18 activities
  • Gain exposure to current industry issues and trends
  • Meet PTC'18 attendees to share ideas, gain new insights, and identify practical research applications
  • Network with industry professionals, members of international organizations and NGOs, government officials, and academics from more than 75 countries
To learn more about the YSP program, please email youngscholars@ptc.org.or click here.

We welcome your feedback on our newsletter.

Contact Tel: (61) 2 9959 9111